Year 33.

Standard

33.

A lot of people refer to their 33rd year of life as their Jesus year. When Jesus was 33, He did literally nothing wrong and had to die a virgin for ungrateful niggas. I’m not that good of a person. I’m only human 🙃

This morning, as I sat on the toilet for no actual reason, I kept hearing Scottie Pippen. And it clicked.

33 is my Scottie Pippen year.

If you know me, you know I’m not the one for the spotlight. I am an introvert who happens to not be socially awkward, but an introvert nonetheless. I enjoy the work behinds the scenes much more than the final production. I like to let the superstars in my life stand out, while I support them in ways that help them embody their greatness.

Everybody equates MJ’s name with greatness and they talk about how many championships he won on the court. Six of them.

Guess how many rings Pippen has. Yep, six.

Guess how many rings MJ won without Pippen. NONE.

This is not to take away from MJ’s gift. It is to show that no superstar stands alone. There’s always someone there with them working toward the same goal, ensuring that the the fight is won, no matter whose face is at the forefront. That role can’t be played by just anyone. Like I said, Jordan didn’t win one ring without Pippen.

It is to say that when the superstar wins, the whole team wins. My goal is the win for my team, not to be the face of it. This year, I am focusing on my teams and making sure we get every single one of these wins.

Leave a comment